December 12, 2013

Review: Not The Same Season by Lindsey Gray

Title: Not the Same Season
Author: Lindsey Gray
Publisher: TWCS
Format: Ebook

Two broken hearts embarked on a holiday season in a way they never had before. Divorced. Mitch had been badly burned by love, but was willing to take a chance . . . with the right woman. Hannah had lived everyday with the grief love had brought her and followed her everywhere. Can two hearts find love and heal each other during the most difficult season of the year?

December 8, 2013

Review: Be-U-Tee-Full by Journi Roe

Alright, I feel a bit bad about this so I'm hoping the spectacular author will forgive me.  My review for this tour was supposed to go live earlier this week, but the weather kind of changed that for me.  But anyway, I'm making sure it's live today.  

Book Information:

One of Cali's bestie friends, Lyvia, is feeling pretty icky. Lyvia had to get glasses, and she is sure the glasses make her look yucky. Lyvia does not even want to wear them, but Cali has a better idea, and a great lesson to teach her bestie: you are be-u-tee-full for simply being you.

November 30, 2013

Review: Ryder On The Storm by

Title: Ryder On The Storm
Author: Violet Patterson
Series: Emerald Seer 1
Format: Ebook
Pages: 236 pages

Storm Sullivan is a Seer from an ancient line forced to return home after the brutal murder of her aunt. But Storm finds she's inherited more than just the family estate. Ryder Cohen is an Immortal, a former enforcer commissioned to eradicate the Sullivan line and prevent the rise of the Emerald. But Ryder has come to question his mission and the reasons behind it. Ryder on the Storm is the first in the Emerald Seer series. An urban fantasy with a supporting cast of Immortals, Seraphs, and Deities this is just the beginning of Storm's journey. The Emerald Seer saga continues with Light My Fire which centers on Lucian's fiery past as Storm closes in on the truth of her destiny. Still craving more Emerald Seer? Dive into Whiskey, Mystics and Men, an Emerald Seer Novella.

November 29, 2013

Author Guest Post: Why Should Readers Read Your Books by Violet Patterson

Why Should Readers Read Your Books

First, let me say how much I love epic fantasy.  Truly, I love the long, complex stories with so many characters (whose names tend to be surprisingly similar) that I need an index and even a series of family trees to keep them all straight.  I also enjoy writing amazingly, intensely complex tales but I have found that not everybody can read them.  Not everybody can get lost in the spider web adventures of David Eddings or George R.R. Martin or J.R.R. Tolkien.  Most of my beta readers are those people.  My friends and family are those people.  Working Moms and Dads who have very little time to devote themselves let alone to reading.  That’s where the Emerald Seer Series comes in.  Fantasy, magic, and even a little romance rolled into a lighter read where characters names don’t run together, the plotlines are easy to follow, easily picked up and set down for hours (or even days) without ever losing your place but still with enough surprise and intrigue to be interesting.  I wanted a series that could be read for fifteen minutes here and there without losing its potency.  

That said I’ve composed a list of the top five reasons to read the Emerald Seer Series.

#1 Strong female leads – aside from my heroine, Storm Sullivan, there are some serious players with strength, humor, and talents to rival any of the men.  I wanted to create a world where the women could defend themselves as much as lean on their men.  Angeline Corsova (introduced briefly in RYDER ON THE STORM and the main character in WHISKEY, MYSTICS, AND MEN) is part fae and full warrior.  Without giving too much away, give that woman a sword and let her go to work.  Though she is pursued by at least three men, Angeline puts her love life on a back burner to follow her own personal code of honor.  Sophia Bedeaux is soft spoken and at times meek but she evolves into a force to be reckoned with.  Throw in some witches, a line of seers, and a Goddess to round out this stunning female class.

Bitting Thursday: #2

Alright, so Biting Thursday is where I share a bite of what I'm reading right now, which is Vampire Academy.  So are you ready for a bite??

Mason stopped walking and stared at me. "You're putting in extra time with Belikov? " "Yeah, so what?" "So the man is a god." "Exaggerate much?" I asked.

How was that for a bite of Vampire Academy? I rather think it was pretty tasty.  Until next time, hope you take a good "bite" of the next book you want to read.  

November 5, 2013

Love & The Goddess Blog Tour: Author Guest Post

I am super excited about today's post here on Page Bites.  I have the author of Love & The Goddess, Mary Elizabeth Coen with us.  I love this book and hope you all have picked up your copy and have read this book, if you haven't what are you waiting for.  Today, she is here to share her writing journey with us and after that you can read more about the book and the author herself.  Enjoy! 

October 22, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday: #1 Character Names

This meme was started by The Broke and the Bookish and it's to share your top ten.  They give a topic every week and you just answer it. 

This weeks Topic:

This week was all about character names -- top ten character names I LOVE or top ten most unusual character names! Feel free to come up with your own twist on the character names if this doesn't work exactly for you! 

October 18, 2013

When I Say Can't Stop, It Means AMAZEBALLS THIS IS AMAZING!!!

Title: Slave
Author: Sherri Hayes
Publisher: TWCS
Format: Paperback
Pages: 276 pages
ISBN #: 1612130488
Stephan has lived the lifestyle of a Dominant for five years. After several rebellious teenage years, it gave him the stability and control he had been seeking after his parent’s death. As president of a not-for-profit foundation, he knows what his future holds and what he wants out of life. All that changes when a simple lunch with his college friend and Mentor, Darren, leads him to buying a slave. Thrust into a situation he never thought he’d be in, Stephan can’t walk away. He is compelled to help this girl in the only way he knows how. Brianna knows only one thing, she is a slave. She has nothing. She is nothing. Can Stephan help Brianna realize that she is much more than just a Slave?

An Amazing YA Fantasy with Action and Great Characters

Title: Red Sky at Dawn 
Author: D.A. Adams
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook
Pages: 192 pages
ISBN #: 0976554712

Crushaw, Molgheon, and Vishghu have liberated the Slithesythe Plantation, and now, they must make their way to safe lands before being caught and returned to certain bondage. Across the orc lands, they and Roskin recruit and train an army of freed slaves, for between them and freedom are thousands of well-armed, well-trained orc warriors. Near the Pass of Hard Hope in the shadows of the eastern mountains, they make their desperate stand. But even if they succeed, Roskin's ordeal is far from finished, as he is haunted by visions of something awful back in Dorkuhn.

October 16, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #2

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions. Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is. A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

October 13, 2013

Haunted by the PAST by Kelly Hagen

Alright, here is another new book on the block, the Amazon block that is. A new genre for author Kelly Hagen. From what you can check out on her, you will see she has one other book out now and it is for kids. Haunted by the PAST just became available and it sounds very very interesting. So keep reading to find out more.

My recently released book "Haunted by the Past" is now available on amazon in e-book and paperback! Right now there's a free giveaway going on for it here on Goodreads! Plus there's more ways to win your own copy of "Haunted by the Past" in the next couple weeks. Stop by this Facebook Event page to find out how and where! 

October 5, 2013

Choosing You by Allie Everhart Blitz

Today I have another book to showcase here on Page Bites, I love showcasing books mainly so you all can get to know new authors and check out more about their amazing books.  Choosing You is by Allie Everhart and today I have a excerpt, author interview and a giveaway to share with all of you.  So get ready to be introduced to Choosing You. 

Title: Choosing You 
Author: Allie Everhart 
Series: (The Jade Series #1)
Publication date: September 23rd, 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

When Jade is given a scholarship to an elite private college in Connecticut, she sees it as a chance to finally escape her painful past and get a fresh start. She’s determined to succeed and that means keeping her focus on school and not guys. But her plan falls apart her first day on campus when Garret, a rich prep school boy with swimmer abs and a perfect smile, offers to help her move in. Jade tries to push him away, but she can’t deny her attraction to him and Garret won’t let her. Things quickly heat up between them, but then come to a sudden halt when reality hits and Jade realizes that a relationship with Garret may never be possible. He comes from a world of wealth where there are rules, including rules about who he can date. And not following those rules has consequences. As the two of them try to overcome the obstacles working to keep them apart, Jade is confronted with another challenge. On her 19th birthday, she receives a letter that her now deceased mother wrote years ago. In it are revelations that explain her traumatic childhood but also make her question the past she’s been running from.

October 3, 2013

The Rules of Regret Blitz

So today I have a great book to showcase for you all.  The Rules of Regret by Megan Squires. There is also a great giveaway as well.  Enjoy! 

Title: The Rules of Regret 
Author: Megan Squires 
Publication date: October 1st 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult

“Life doesn’t come with a blueprint, which makes it hard to have any plans.” Nineteen-year-old Darby Duncan is finally on her own. Her boyfriend of six years just left for a high-powered summer internship, though in reality he’s been absent for much longer than that. This newfound freedom wasn’t a part of Darby’s plans, but as she’s come to discover, plans only exist on paper, not in reality. And guys like Torin Westbrook aren’t supposed to exist in reality, either. But he does, with his disheveled curly hair, irresistible dimples, and endearingly quirky habit of reciting quotes from classic movies and ancient thinkers. When Darby meets Torin as a fellow counselor at the survival camp she impulsively applies to, she’s certain his main goal is to turn her world upside-down. But Darby’s not sure she can adapt to Torin’s ways of viewing his past and the tragedies he’s faced. Because she’s had her own share of heartache, too, and as much as she wants to believe that it’s all been for a purpose, her grief hasn’t allowed her to get to that point. Yet the more Darby is around Torin, the more she craves the freedom to break out of her carefully constructed routine and mindset and fall into something new. She’s just not sure that she should be falling for Torin along the way.

October 1, 2013

Top Off Tuesday #1: Red Zone by Sherri Hayes

Top Off Tuesday is a meme created by Geeky Blogger's Book Blog, On A Book Bender and Smitten with Reading.  Every Tuesday, they share a book cover that has caught there attention.  

So this week I decided to share a book by Sherri Hayes, seeing as I will be reviewing her book Slave this week and it's football season I thought it was a perfect fit.  So let's take a look at her book cover for Red Zone. 

September 30, 2013

Leap of Faith Book Blitz and Giveaway

So today I have a great tour to share with you all, Leap of Faith by Jamie Blair Book Blitz.  Below you will find a lot of information about the book, it's author, and a few giveaways as well.  I hope you all enjoy! 

Title: Leap of Faith
Author:  Jamie Blair
Published by: Simon & Schuster BfYR
Publication date: September 3rd 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Buy This:  Goodreads  * Amazon  * B & N

Can true love be built on lies? A teen on the run seeks relief and redemption in this gripping, romantic read. Leah Kurtz has finally found a place to call home, a town where she and baby Addy can live in peace, far from the drug-infested place she grew up. Chris is one of the best parts of her new life, the only person who’s ever made her feel safe. And now that she’s found him, there’s no way she can tell the truth: Her real name is Faith, not Leah. She’s seventeen, not nineteen. And the baby isn’t hers—Faith kidnapped her. Faith’s history catches up with her when a cop starts asking questions and Chris’s aunt spots her picture in the newspaper. She knows it’s time to run again, but if Faith leaves, she’ll lose Chris. If Chris is in love with a lie, though, did Faith ever really have him in the first place?

September 29, 2013

Sunday Post #1

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

This is my first The Sunday Post and I'm super excited about it.  For this week I'm going to share a few books I've recieved, revisit a few of this weeks reviews, and a few other things.  Enjoy.

Guest Post: 10 things we don't know about Author Stephen Zimmer

So today I'm pleased to share with you all a guest post from the fantastic author Stephen Zimmer.  Have you ever want to know more about your favorite authors? I know I have so I am asking some of my favs to share 10 things we don't know about them. Author Stephen Zimmer is my first guinea pig for this.  Thank you so much Stephen for sharing these 10 facts with us. 

1.       Worked in Cancer Research Laboratory

Yes, it is true, I spent a few summers working in cancer research when growing up.  My father was a cutting-edge cancer researcher and I was fortunate to have the opportunity to work in a lab setting and participate in a number of different research activities.  This was a fantastic experience that gave me a tremendous appreciation for scientists and the laborious, painstaking process they go through in research.

September 25, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #1

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

September 24, 2013

A Book and a Dragon...Seriously What More Do You Need?

Title: Redheart
Author: Jackie Gamber
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook
Pages: 294 pages
ISBN #:  0983108676

Kallon Redheart lives with his back turned on his fellow dragons, on humans, and on everything he once understood. Riza Diantus is a young woman with dreams too wide to fit inside her village fence. Their unexpected friendship is risky in Leland Province, where drought has stripped the land and superstition has cowed its people. And the danger only grows. Fordon Blackclaw, Dragon Council Leader, resents Leland's time-worn venur system. He has inflamed tensions between dragons and humans to the brink of war. He wants to trample humans into utter submission, or wipe them off the face of the land. Anger erupts, scorching innocent lives in its path. When Riza is threatened, Kallon is the only one with the power to save her. But first, he must confront his past and the future he stopped believing in. He must claim his destiny.

September 19, 2013

Biting Thursday #1

So today is Thursday and I wanted to do a type of post kind of like Teaser Tuesday, which was started by MizB of Should Be Reading, but I wanted to do mine on Thursdays.  So I came up with Biting Thursday, so you can get a bite out of the book I'm reading. 

As I closed the clasp on her neck, a surge of possessiveness rushed through me. She was mine. My hands ran up the span of her neck and into her hair, moving it back into place. Beautiful.

So there you have it, a small bite into what I'm reading right now.  What do you think? 

September 18, 2013

Dwarves....War...What More Could You Want

Review: The Brotherhood of Dwarves by D.A. Adams

Title: The Brotherhood of Dwarves
Author: D.A. Adams
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook
Pages:  238 pages
ISBN #:  1937929914 
Buy This: Amazon  * Goodreads

The dwarven saga begins... Roskin, heir to the throne of a remote, peaceful kingdom of dwarves, craves excitement and adventure. Outside his own kingdom, in search of fortune and glory, he finds a much different world, one divided by racial strife and overrun by war. The orcs to the south want to conquer all dwarves and sell them as slaves. The humans to the east want to control the world's resources. Caught in the middle, Roskin finds himself chased by slave traders and soldiers alike as he discovers that friendship is the best fortune of all. Just when he thinks he has triumphed, an act of betrayal sends him into bondage. His only hope of escape is the faltering courage of a disgraced warrior whose best days are behind him..

September 17, 2013

Ave Here I Come!

Review: Chronicles of Ave by Stephen Zimmer

Title: Chronicles of Ave 
Author: Stephen Zimmer
Volume: #1
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook

Escape into the wonders of Ave in this first collection of short stories featuring the fantastical world from the Fires in Eden Series by Stephen Zimmer. "Into Glory Ride" tells the story of a young Trogen Warrior who is called to go up against insurmountable odds when an Elven raid strikes his homeland. The Trogens have only begun training winged steeds for combat, but time is of the essence and a momentous choice has to be made by the young warrior. In "A Touch of Serenity" a conscript laborer working on a massive wall constructed under the orders of the Divine Emperor begins to hear ghostly voices asking for help. His response leads him on a journey that will test his courage, wisdom, and compassion. In "Moonlight's Grace" a young man goes to help his people when a Midragardan raid strikes Gael. He seeks to prove his worth to the chieftain whose daughter he loves with all his heart. The novella-length "Winter's Embrace" follows a warrior-monk into the depths of dangerous woodlands in the heart of winter. There he will find his faith tested in ways he never anticipated, when he must help a forest witch against an enigmatic, immortal being known as the Undying. "Lion Heart" introduces the heroic Sigananda of the Amazu people, who must confront things that transcend the laws of the physical world when powerful Wizards threaten his homeland. In "Land of Shadow" a knight who is part of a band of Avanoran mercenaries discovers how perilous the mysterious Shadowlands are when they undertake a journey to locate a site to build a fortress. A world of wonder beckons to be explored and fantasy enthusiasts are invited along for the journey in these half-dozen stories from the world of Ave! Also be sure to take further adventures in Ave in the Fires in Eden Series, beginning with Crown of Vengeance, Book One!

September 6, 2013

A Year Anniversary for Author Sydney Logan

September 6 marks the one year anniversary of the release of Sydney Logan's debut novel, Lessons Learned. To celebrate, Sydney is offering a fantastic giveaway!

The Blurb: 
 A young girl needs to spread her wings, but a young woman needs roots. English teacher Sarah Bray never thought she’d return to Sycamore Falls, but a traumatic event at her inner - city school leaves her desperate for the sanctuary of home. By returning to her roots, an older and wiser Sarah hopes to deal with the demons of her present and confront the ghosts of her past. She discovers a kindred spirit in Lucas Miller, a teacher from New York with demons of his own. As the newest faculty members at Sycamore High School, they quickly become friends – bonding th rough Lucas’s culture shock and their mutual desire to build new lives. When they open their wounded hearts to each other, their friendship effortlessly evolves into romance. Their love is put to the test when Matt, the quarterback of the football team, shares his deepest secret with Sarah. When the conservative community finds out, Sarah and Lucas – along with the town of Sycamore Falls – are schooled in the lessons of acceptance, tolerance, and love. 

 Praise for Lessons Learned
"Lessons Learned is a book t hat isn’t easily forgotten. I urge you to give it a read. You won’t regret it. Also, did I mention it starts with a bang? Talk about the best prologue ever." - JM Darhower, author of Sempre
"I haven’t read a book in a long time that I can compare to my favorite aut hor Nicholas Sparks. THIS book is that book." - Becky, Book Blogger
To thank her readers for an amazing year, Sydney is celebrating with a giveaway! You can win a signe d copy of Lessons Learned and a $25 Amazon or iTunes gift card! The Rafflecopter is below.  Good luck! 

This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, iTunes, or Bl ogger. We hereby release all names listed of any liability. Winner(s) will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. Let me know if you have any questions or issues by contacting me: @SydneyALogan. - Good Luck!

September 5, 2013

Come Join Me on This Roller-coaster Ride of A Book

Review: Love & the Goddess by Mary Elizabeth Coen

Title: Love & the Goddess
Author: Mary Elizabeth Coen
Kindle: 390 Pages
Publisher: GoddessMECA (02/06/2013)
ISBN#: 1909483036

 One woman, one myth, three goddesses

When Cookery teacher Kate Canavan’s perfect life falls apart she moves to nearby Galway City.
Her friend James urges her to love and nurture herself, but mischievous Ella persuades her to dust off her unused dating skills. So Kate explores the world of on- line dating using the name of a Greek Goddess. In the midst of a mad dating frenzy, Kate has a traumatic health scare which convinces her to drop everything and go in search of a guru.
First stop a famous healer's ashram in Brazil followed by a shamanic journey through Peru, where a shaman tells her how to harness the energy of the Goddess and the Divine Feminine. Kate’s journey of self discovery continues apace after she returns home and events unfold in a surprising manner, as she learns to think for herself.  

August 30, 2013

10 things you didn’t know about author Christian Jensen


So today I have author Christian Jensen with us sharing somethings we don't know about him.  If you didn't know I just reviewed his book Paranormal Reality today as well.  CLICK HERE to read the review.  So let's get to know this author shall we.

 Guest Post: 10 things you didn’t know about Christian Jensen

 This is easy. No one knows me, not yet at least. I’m working on that, so let me get into this list and let your readers know a little something about me. 

Meet Seventh Star Press

Press for the Press: Meet Seventh Star Press

It's time to meet a press that many have not heard of, but should know.  This press is one that publishes fantastic Fantasy books, with amazing artwork and fantastic plots.  If you haven't heard of this publishing company read more about them below.  Trust me you wont be disappointed. 

Review: Paranormal Reality by Christian Jensen

Review: Paranormal Reality by Christian Jensen

Title: Paranormal Reality
Author: Christian Jensen 
Paperback: 308 pages
Publisher: Rebel Ink Press (June 16, 2013)
ISBN-10: 194031500X

What happens when the hosts of America's most popular ghost hunting reality show come face to face with unadulterated evil? What happens when a single mother is trapped and left to defend her daughter alone? When ghosts are real and your past comes back to literally haunt you, who can you turn to? Who can you trust?

August 22, 2013

Check This Free Book Out!!!

Love & the Goddess 
by Mary Elizabeth Coen

I swallowed my wine in a gulp, hastily averting my eyes to study a nearby jacaranda blossom. I could feel a hot blush turning my face bright red.
He said, “It sounds worse than it is, Kate. I’m not a sexual deviant. I became very promiscuous after Lexie died and I used sex as a drug. Believe me, a lot of people have this addiction and will never own up to it. Someone addicted to porn, even if he or she has never had sex, could be classified as a sex addict. If you understand the nature of addiction you will know that addicts cannot bear to feel their feelings, finding emotions too raw, and their wounds too deep to touch. Instead they act out with inappropriate behavior to dull the pain, but their lives eventually spiral out of control.”
“Sorry. It sounds so...” I couldn’t finish the sentence. I wanted to say perverted and realized how judgmental that would sound. After all, I didn’t really know anything about the nature of addictions.